P-LITS-SD (Post-Living in the South Stress Disorder)

Its been nearly 3 months since I’ve left the 110 degree cauldron of hell known as Texas for the Pacific Northwest.  Trying to acclimate to a somewhat civilized society has been a challenge.  I feel like I’m living in Encino Man, having my Neanderthal brain thawed some time in the distant future.  Take for example this thing they call ‘recycling’.  I haven’t recycled in about 4 years.  That’s right. Every can, bottle, paper towel and biohazardous waste has gone into a single receptacle, the garbage. For every pound that PNWs (Pacific Northwesterners) recycle or compost, you can bet that 4 pounds of generic garbage has accrued in Waco alone.  I tried to recycle once in Texas. I was taken to the back of a shed and beaten towards an inch of my life.  They put toothpicks in my eyes and sentenced me to 4 hours of Joel Osteen rehab.

I attribute the ‘environmentalism’ in the PNW to three things: First, it seems most people here have received some sort of education. Second, they can actually see that there is a beautiful world to protect, not just a sandpit that houses fast food restaurants and gun shops.  Lastly, the proximity to Canada has had a major impact on the communal conscience. People here can point to Canada on a map, and the CBC is a local broadcast station.

I think I’ll survive. So long as no one catches me recycling food soiled paper towels.

5 Responses to “P-LITS-SD (Post-Living in the South Stress Disorder)”


  1. 1 Juliet June 25, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    Nicely put, With thanks!

  2. 2 bladder cancer July 12, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    Everyone loves it when people come together and share
    opinions. Great site, keep it up!

  3. 3 hydrogel injections July 29, 2013 at 10:57 am

    Hello, I would like to subscribe for this web site to
    take most recent updates, so where can i do it please assist.

  4. 4 bone cancer detection August 4, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    This is a good tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.

    Brief but very precise info… Thank you for sharing this one.
    A must read post!

  5. 5 symptoms of cancer April 10, 2014 at 7:01 am

    Hello there! Quick question that’s totally off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My blog looks weird when browsing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find
    a template or plugin that might be able to correct this problem.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

